Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

They say that a picture is worth 1,000 words. This one is also worth a dinner. And personally, I’d go for a dinner over reading 1,00 words. Actually, I can’t say that. This weekend I think I read over 200 pages in preparation for two of my English classes on Monday. I’m pretty sure that I read more than 1,000 words.

In all events, reading an eye watering amount of words a day causes me to be rather busy. But no matter how full my mind is from digesting phrases, parsing up sentences, dicing and rearranging words, my stomach reminds that yes, dinner must be made. And normally, it’s not interested in waiting long periods of time to eat. I’m hungry and I’m hungry now and I don’t feel like waiting around for something to be done. You know how you can just skim a page and glean the general information? (Although of course I never practice this in any of my English classes. Believe you me, I always have plenty of time to carefully unpack every single little word, phrase, sentence, paragraph, page, chapter, and book..) However, let’s just say (for these purposes right now…not experience) that I do occasionally have to just dip my feet into the water to know the temperature. Sometimes I find it extremely cold and hasten to glean a sparse amount to show that I “read the book.” It was very…you know those New York Times reviews… “Inspiring,” “Exciting,” “Thrilling,” “A heart-felt story,” “Five Stars,” or “Hilariously Told.”

Sometimes I want a one word dinner. I want a “skimmed” dinner. But of course, I don’t want to compromise the taste. I want as much effort as Sparknotes with as much taste and complexities as a Norton Critical edition of The Scarlet Letter.

Personally, Hatch’s Green Chiles come close. Hatch is actually a place in New Mexico where a lot of green chiles come from. And anything from them is going to be better and more flavorful than any other brand. Yes, it costs a little bit more, but that’s okay. It’s worth it. If you haven’t tried them, you’re missing out. Sometimes I can skimp on the “name brand” and go with a generic. But don’t do it with Hatch. They know their stuff and they know how to rock what they do. Don’t Sparknote here. Just don’t. And if you can’t find Hatch’s green chiles, then I’m sorry for you. I don’t know what the alternative is in your area. Just know that you might be missing out and if you ever travel West, or Southwest, try to go somewhere that serves fantastic Hatch’s products. Then you’ll know the difference and it’ll be a taste you can fondly reminisce over…and probably crave every once in a while. Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

And cooking up a bunch of chicken and freezing it until needed gives the speed without compromising the taste. Sautéd onions and garlic help.

Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

Add some Monterey Jack cheese.

Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

Roll up and sprinkle the top with more cheese.

And then add the amazingness…..!!!!!!!!…..

Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

As an afterthought, I added some sliced cheddar cheese. I simply took several pieces of cheese, broke them into smaller pieces and put them on top. The advantage to doing this instead of pouring shredded cheese on top is the enchiladas aren’t covered in cheese. I don’t care for my enchiladas to be smothered in cheese. Hatch’s Green Chile Sauce, yes please I’ll take the smothered.  But cheese? No thank you. I just like the hint of depth the cheese provides.

Chicken Enchiladas

Bake at 350 Degrees F for about 25-30 minutes. You want the sauce to be hot and sizzling and you want your cheese to be melted. And while you’re waiting, your appetizer, your hor d’oeuvres, can be a few pages from the next book you have to read. And if the book is titled Hunger by Knut Hamsun (not that any book that I’m reading currently is…) than this will put you in the proper mood to enjoy your Hatch’s Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas.

Directions

1 lb chicken, cooked and shredded. (I use chicken breast, you can use whatever you want. You can also cook up more than you need and freeze the chicken for a later time.)

1 onion, chopped (I like bigger chunks, but feel free to dice them if you prefer!)

1 or 2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 1/2-2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese

1 15 oz can of Hatch’s Green Chile Enchilada Sauce

3 or 4 slices of cheddar cheese, broken (Or use a cup or two of shredded cheese, see comment in text.)

5 tortillas (I use 8 inch; use whatever size you’d like. If you use the bigger ones, you’ll either have to make fewer enchiladas, or you’ll want to increase the amount of chicken and other ingredients.)

Salt, pepper, and oregano to taste

olive oil for sautéing

  1. Preheat oven to 350 Degrees F.
  2. Sauté the onions and garlic in olive oil.
  3. Add the cooked chicken.
  4. Season to taste with salt, pepper, and oregano.
  5. Put 1/5 of the chicken mixture in each tortilla and sprinkle with 1/5 of Jack cheese.
  6. Roll up and place seam down in a 9×13” baking dish.
  7. Repeat steps 5&6 until all tortillas are rolled.
  8. Cover with any remaining Jack cheese.
  9. Pour the Green Chile Enchilada Sauce on top.
  10. Top with cheddar cheese.
  11. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until the enchiladas sizzle and the cheese is melted.
  12. Enjoy!!!!

Thankful for good books and Green Chiles!

izzie-signature

P.S. This is the first in a collection I’m starting called “2mealsin1”. The aim here is to take the same ingredients and make two different meals with them. Saves on groceries and energy. Sounds good? I think so. Let me know your thoughts. :)

Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

