Peanut Butter and Jelly…COOKIES!!!!

This weekend, I learned how to make burgers by grilling them and putting some soy sauce on them. It was incredible. I think I’m always going to make my burgers that way now. The soy sauce kept the burgers moist and added a nice depth of flavor that I wasn’t expecting at first from a burger. My friend and I were trying to describe the way it tasted; the best we could muster spur of the moment was “It just…it just tastes exactly how you imagine a burger to taste.” Only, most burgers don’t taste like this. But then, I also think that most burgers are a disappointment of a burger. This one, however, wasn’t.

Here’s another thing that wasn’t a disappointment. Peanut Butter and Jelly cookies. Really? Yes. They are amazing. Are you serious? Yes. They are super addictive. I think I ate….okay well I’m not going to count out to you how many I ate because that’s practically like asking me how much I weigh or how old I am. You just don’t ask girls those questions. I can tell you that I ate a lot and counted it as my late lunch and dinner.

Peanut Butter and Jelly CookiesAt first, my friend and I thought about freezing jelly on wax paper and then breaking into little chips. He was the one in charge of that and it didn’t work. Maybe we didn’t give it enough time or something. Instead, we added the jelly to the cookie batter.

The result?

An extremely soft and chewy peanut butter and jelly cookie. Which, to quote my sister who tried them after they’d been baked, tastes like…“a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!”

Just with extra sugar.

And vanilla extract.

And in a slighty different shape.

Who knows, maybe circular PB&J will be the next new thing.

It’s possible

Peanut Butter and Jelly CookiesWe ended up making two separate kinds of cookies. Actually, we made a cookie, and we made a cup. There where four of us baking (I take that back—two bakers, and two “sitters-at-the-table-watching-the-two-bakers-bake) and 75% preferred the cup to the cookie. Make both and you can decide. (Do you like how I threw that math in their for you??? That’s what having engineering friends does to your brain…you start using statistical words in your everyday vocabulary.) It’s like a math word problem:

If there were four friends and 75% preferred eating a peanut butter and jelly cup instead of the peanut butter and jelly cookie, how many friends preferred the cup over the cookie?

The answer is 3.

And so, without further ado, may I present to you this fantastic recipe. And I do hope you will enjoy.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

2 eggs

2 sticks of butter

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 granulated sugar

3/4 brown sugar

3 cups flour

1 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 -2 cups of jelly (only if making the cookies. If making the cups, you need enough to fill all the cups.)

[Note: Read the directions all the way through so that you will understand the difference between the cookies and the cups.]

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. If making cups, flour a mini muffin pan.
  3. Cream the eggs, butter, peanut butter, and sugars (both kinds) together using a handheld mixer or a stand alone.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, salt, baking soda.
  5. Add the flour mixture to the creamed mixture.
  6. Here’s where you have to choose what you want…
  1. Set aside the batter you will use of the cups
    1. Don’t put any jelly in the batter.
    2. Fill the muffin tins 2/3 full.
    3. Make an imprint into the middle of the dough in each cup. This is where you’ll put jelly.
    4. Bake for 10 minutes.
    5. Remove from pan—I had to flip it over and carefully pry them out. If you flour the pan, you shouldn’t have any problem.
    6. Put a small dollop of jelly into each of the cups.
    7. Let cool. (Or not.)
  1. For the cookies.
    1. Add the jelly to the dough and stir by hand. DO NOT use your mixer! Stirring by hand allows some jelly clumps to stay together. If you use a mixer you will completely blend it.
    2. Spoon cookie dough onto parchment paper. These cookies will expand, so be sure to give them enough room to bake.
    3. Bake for 12 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges.
    4. Let cool for 2 or 3 minutes on the pan—because they are very soft and chewy.
    5. Put on a cooling rack.
    6. Enjoy

Thankful for peanut butter and jelly and creative friends!

izzie-signature

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies

Leave a Reply

