Sausage, Apple, and Cheese pasta bake

It’s been a while and I do apologize.

What is my excuse?

I moved. Started two new jobs, started a new college, don’t have internet in my apartment….

Most importantly, I didn’t manage my time correctly. Time management is key. And at the beginning of every fall, I have to train myself to wake up at 5:30, take a shower, get dressed, pack my backpack with books/notebooks/gyms clothes/lunch, eat breakfast, wrap up any uncompleted homework, read my Bible, and head out the door at 6:40 or 7, clock in at 7 or 7:30 and start work. Then I have classes, homework, friends. I come home at 5, or maybe 7, and then I have to make dinner.

No matter how tired I am from the day, no matter how sore my shoulders are from carrying around everything I’ve needed that day, when I open the fridge, it’s like I am opening up a whole new me. I don’t feel tired, or sore, or hungry, or anything like that. I feel inspired. I can do whatever I want with the food I have. I’m not bound to a certain set of rules. Of course, I can use a cookbook, and I do, but I don’t lose points if I used three small bell peppers instead of one big one. If I had written three small sentences instead of one big one in my English class, then I would have lowered my grade. But this is food. And I can use what I want. Three mini bell peppers. (And did you notice, I also used three small sentences–and they are not even complete sentences, what would my teachers say now??)

But I digress. This is not a grammar blog. I would’t do that to you, because I’d be terrible, and I don’t know if you’d find that extremely interesting. Maybe you would…if I was a funny grammar teacher…and maybe I am actually am funny while explaining grammar rules. You don’t know. You probably won’t ever know….the suspense!!

Back to opening the fridge. I opened the fridge and peered into the abyss of possibilities. I was disappointed. I’d forgotten that I really needed to go grocery shopping! Whoops! I checked what I had. Some Feta stuffed sausages, leftover cooked Linguine noodles, three browning mushrooms, an apple, and a slice of cheddar cheese. Sitting on the counter were a couple of onions and two garlic bulbs.

Sausage, Apple, and Cheese

I almost forgot about making dinner. I almost made myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Almost. But not quite.

Instead, I took all those ingredients and baked them in the oven, at 350 degrees F until it was hot and sizzling and the cheese had melted.

Then I was glad I hadn’t given up on those unassuming ingredients. I was glad I wasn’t settling for PB&J. Because this dish, which as of yet has no name because if it did have a name it would have to be something either ridiculously long because of all the random ingredients that are in it and are unexpected and not usually thought of as really going together, or a short title because it was very quick and easy to make.

Without further ado (otherwise this would turn into “Much Ado About Nothing”—how is Shakespeare so applicable in everything??) let me present you with this meal. This dinner. This pasta and sausage and apple and cheese and onions and salt and pepper and a little tiny dash of red win vinegar that is baked at 350 until it is hot and the cheese melts (20-25 minutes.)

Sausage, Apple, and Cheese

  • 4 sausages
  • 1 apple, chopped
  • 1/2 box of cooked noodles (I used Linguine because that it what I had. Use whatever you want)
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 1 or 2 pieces of cheddar cheese, broken
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1/2-1 tsp red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper-season to taste

It’s really easy..

.Sausage, Apple, and Cheese

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Chop up the sausages, apple, and onion,
  3. Combine all the ingredient in an oven-safe pan. I used a 9’x13″
  4. Bake until hot and cheese has melted.
  5. Enjoy!

Sausage, Apple, and Cheese

Enjoying His gift of food and creativity!

izzie signature

Leave a Reply

