Crazy Sweet Potato Love

One of the blogs I enjoy reading is Orangette. I find her writing engaging, witty, delicious, and just relaxing. I’m not sure how else to describe her. I also find her inspiring. I love the story of her and her husband working together in what they both love.

In one of her more recent blog from June 2, 2015 (“Here Was an Opportunity”), she discussed how a friend of her sent her a text saying to make this carrot recipe with a tahini yogurt sauce. Apparently, her husband loved it so much that he wanted to eat the leftover tahini-yogurt sauce with Triscuits.

Well, she had these nice pictures of orange carrots. It looked delicious. I forgot about it until one night I was tired and thinking of a crazy food concoction. To be honest, I was kidding around with a friend, saying I had a vegan kola bear. Trying to think of something weird for it to eat, I said it ate sweet potatoes with a vegan yogurt based (is that even  thing???) Tzatziki sauce. (I’d made Greek chicken gyros the night before, so that’s why Tzatziki sauce was on my mind.)

I think I thought that in the blog, they’d had the Tzatziki sauce instead of tahini sauce. They both begin with a “T” and they have Greek yogurt in them….so it’s completely understandable to get the two confused, right? Maybe not…

After I told my friend my random recipe idea, I started craving sweet potatoes with tzatziki sauce. No joke. I thought I was going crazy. I told myself that I was being ridiculous. I’d come up with the combination late one night. It was supposed to be a joke. Not something serious. However, two days later, the recipe was still on my mind; so while I was at the grocery store, I bought a sweet potato.

So excited for my new idea, I didn’t even put away the all the groceries before I was slicing up the potato into “fries.” Sweet fries. I preheated the oven to 350 (F), tossed my “sweet fries” with salt, pepper, and olive oil, and put them in the oven. Not long after (maybe 15-20 minutes), the fries were done–soft and sizzling. YUMMYYY!!! Guys, I cannot even tell you how excited I was for this. It was almost embarrassing. At least immature. Especially considering the fact that I’d made up this recipe on accident, to be funny, and mistaken (or replaced???) tahini sauce for tzatziki sauce and carrots for sweet potatoes.

The result? Sweet potato luuuuhhhhvvv!!!! For real. It’s my new favorite food. I ate up all the extra sauce I’d had from last night’s chicken gyros.

Next time you have leftover tzatziki sauce, make this. Don’t doubt. Don’t think you’re crazy. Einstein was a crazy genius. I’m following his footsteps (only I kinda hope my hair doesn’t follow after his….)

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of the tzatziki sauce and eating for two reason: 1). I was too excited to eat the sweet fries+ tzatziki sauce AND 2). My phone’s camera was full. Also, I was too lazy to get my real camera and then upload pictures.

Here’s the sweet potatoes, though!

Sweet Potato Crazy Love

Recipe for Sweet Fries

1 sweet potato

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil for coating

tzatziki sauce (here’s the recipe I used–just scroll down for the sauce recipe [or make the chicken while you’re at it])

Step 1. Cut the sweet potato into “fries” by slicing in half widthwise and then lengthwise. Cut each section in half or thirds, depending on the thickness of the sweet potato you have. (The goal here is to get pieces of sweet potato roughly the size of french fries.) Cut those sections into the strips.

Step 2. Coat with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Step 3. Bake at 350 degrees (F) for 15-20 mins. Stir occasionally to make sure that the sweet potatoes are cooking evenly.

Enjoy!

Thankful for crazy ideas, friends, mis-remembered recipes, and He who turns bad into good,

izzie signature

I think I’m going to have to make some more tomorrow. At least sweet potatoes are good for you, right??

Leave a Reply

