I probably shouldn’t [orrrr] how to {not} ruin 6 cups of oats

Yes, you read that right. 6 cups. That’s kinda a lot, right? Plus, there was also  1.5 cups of cashews, 1/2 cup maple syrup, 1/3 cup of olive oil, a spoonful of my grandpa’s own bee honey, and 1/3 cup of molasses.

Maybe I shouldn't [orrrr] how to NOT ruin 6 cups of oats

That is where I went wrong. Molasses. It’s not a sweetener like the honey and syrup. And it burned really fast. Sooooooo my genius idea for using up random ingredients from the pantry before we move went down the drain. Actually, it started to burn after 20 minutes at 300 degrees (F). Yep. I caught it, but the bottom is definitely dark. The molasses is dark, but the granola is darker than it should be, all things considered. Learn from my mistake. Don’t do it. Unless you’re really following a recipe that says to use it. Make gingersnap cookies instead, they’re delicious. Molasses granola isn’t. Unless. UNLESS!!!!!….

Maybe I shouldn't [orrrr] how to NOT ruin 6 cups of oats

….Put sugar in it!!! Yay for sugar! Brown sugar, white sugar, and vanilla extract. YES! YES! YES!!! Also, add raisons! Then, it should taste yummy. Cinnamon? Yes. Add a dash of that, and some salt. Now we’re talking. Talking delicious for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snacks. So good that now I keep snacking on it. I don’t like waiting for it to cool down because I keep munching on it. Death by granola. That’d be an interesting headline. Unexpected. Catching. But, those adjectives kind of sum up this granola recipe. I wasn’t expecting it to taste “bad,” and I certainly wasn’t expecting it to taste good afterwards. Still, I don’t know if I’ll risk another almost heart attack of uncertain wondering if I just wasted a lot of rather expensive ingredients.Maybe I shouldn't [orrrr] how to NOT ruin 6 cups of oats

Recipe for: [Nearly] Death by Granola

6 cups of oats (I used Quaker Old Fashioned)

1.5 cups chopped cashews (I just used a whole 170 g bag of them and chopped it up)

2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup maple syrup

spoonful of honey

1/3 molasses

1/3+1/2 cup olive oil

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

1 TBS white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar (honestly, I didn’t measure it out, so I’m guessing–put in as much as you’d like.)

1/2 cup raisons

Maybe I shouldn't [orrrr] how to NOT ruin 6 cups of oats

Step 1.Preheat your oven to 300 degrees F.

Step 2. Mix the oats, salt, cashews, and cinnamon together. Add the  syrup, olive oil, molasses, vanilla extract, and honey. Stir to combine. (DO NOT add the white and brown sugar or raisins yet.)

Step 3. Put in two rimmed baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake for 20 minutes. Stir often to ensure it does not burn. (Learn from me, STIR IT!)

Step 4. Add the brown sugar, white sugar, and raisons.

Step 5. Carefully, move the parchment paper with the granola on top to a cooling rack and cool completely.

Enjoy!

So thankful for sugar, and the sweetness of His grace to forgive,

izzie signature

Maybe I shouldn't [orrrr] how to NOT ruin 6 cups of oats

Leave a Reply

