Sautéd Salad

Excuse me? Grilled salad? That sounds gross.

That’s what my family thought, too. Some, kept it to themselves. Others, informed me with disgusted faces that I had a bad idea. I almost believed them.

Good thing I didn’t!

Sautéd Salad

This is how it happened….

My family had been out of town, and I had I made lasagna for when they got in late Saturday. Actually, let’s be honest, they didn’t even know if they were going to make it in on time for dinner. I made it in case they got home Saturday night and wanted some dinner. We’d have a salad. All would be well. Only, they came home Friday at 11:55pm, so they were really hungry for Saturday’s dinner. We ate lasagna for dinner. Yum! (With a fresh, tossed salad.) I’d planned to have the leftover lasagna for Sunday dinner as well, because I forgot that a family of seven can’t really eat lasagna for leftovers without having other leftovers. Whoops! As soon as we got home from church, I was trying to figure out how I could spread the lasagna so that everyone could have enough food. Besides, I was inwardly punching myself for not thinking about making something nice for Sunday dinner–like a roast chicken or something.

Sautéd Salad

I looked in the nearly empty fridge for inspiration. Half a bag of fresh spinach, carrots, two mini red bell peppers. Hmmm, that’s a boring salad. I wanted something with a punch! If we’d had tomatoes, or avocados, or mushrooms, or even regular lettuce, or arugula, that’d have been fine. But those ingredients didn’t sound very good to me. Besides, I don’t really like carrots very much. (Bad girl!)

Sautéd Salad

I checked the freezer, maybe I’ll just boil some frozen veggies…peas, corn, green beans…something???? Nothing. Except for a half bag of frozen corn. We’re moving, and so we keep our fridges at a minimum, plus, I hadn’t gone grocery shopping like I should have knowing that family was coming in town.

I took the frozen corn, sliced up the two bell peppers, and sautéd them in garlic, onion, and olive oil. While that sautéd, I broke up the spinach and placed it in a bowl. It was going to be a sautéd veggies and spinach salad. Having tremendous doubts and wanting something I could trust,  I thought about just throwing the bag of spinach in with the veggies and calling it good. But I didn’t. Corn and bell peppers still seemed like not enough veggies, so into another skillet when some chopped baby carrots with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. They weren’t completely soft when I turned the heat off of them, because mushy carrots on a salad sounds gross, even to me. Maybe it’d be good, but you can let me know about that. For a dressing, I did a simply olive oil and balsamic vinegar combination, and sprinkled the top with some fresh parsley, salt and pepper. Oh, and I found some Feta cheese I crumbled on top! Guys, it was amazing!

Sautéd Salad

Sautéd Salad

Adjust the quantities to your preference…this is just what I had on hand…

A bunch of spinach (if you have arugula, you can also use some of that!)

Half an onion–minced

Clove of garlic–crushed

Two mini bell peppers–sliced (the more, the merrier, though! I only had the two…)

Half-ish a bag of frozen corn (probably a cup???)

Baby carrots–chopped (probably between 1/3 and 1/2 a cup)

Feta Cheese–crumbled (enough for a nice topping)

Olive Oil

Balsamic Vinegar

Season to taste with salt, pepper, and fresh parsley

1. Sauté corn and mini peppers in olive oil, minced onion, and crushed garlic.

2. Sauté carrots in olive oil and balsamic vinegar. (I just added a couple of drops of the vinegar for some extra tang and to defeat some of the “carrot-ness” of the, ummm…carrot)

3. Place spinach in a bowl. Top with sautéd veggies, then with crumbled Feta cheese, and lastly with a garnishing of parsley.

4. Make dressing: in a small bowl combine Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar. Stir to combine. Pour over salad.

ENJOY!!

Sautéd Salad

Thankful for creativity and tasty vegetables!

~izzie signature

Leave a Reply

