This is The Promised Recipe.

Whole Wheat Mixed Berry Waffles

I’m just going to pretend that y’all were really dying to know the recipe, because that makes me feel super important.

But here’s the recipe. It’s Whole Wheat Mixed Berry Waffles. I found the super basic recipe off of a blog and then I decided to change it all up and make it my own. I like to be creative with recipes, and while this is certainly not anything unheard of, they are SOOOOOOOO good that I think you will agree that the whole “making it mine” was worth it. And, feel free to change around the recipe to make it yours. That’s the joy of cooking! You know that line from one of my most favorite movies, Leap Year, “It’s dinner, have a little faith.” It was breakfast, but the sentiment is the same.

Whole Wheat Mixed Berry Waffles

Whole Wheat Mixed Berry Waffles

Melt:

1/2 cup unsalted butter

Stir into:

2 eggs-beaten

1 3/4 cups milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

In a separate bowl, mix together:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup wheat flour (use whole wheat or white wheat, whichever you’d prefer)

1 TBS sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ginger

Combine the wet and dry ingredients. Mixed until just combined.

Add:

1 cup mixed berries (I used a frozen fruit mix with raspberries, black berries, blueberries, and strawberries–it was delicious)

1/2-3/4 cup chopped pecans

Mix together and cook according to your waffle iron directions

Makes 9 squares on a Belgium waffle maker (two 4-squared waffles and then I had an extra spoonful I poured in the middle)

Serve with butter and syrup, or whipped cream if you have any on hand! I didn’t but it would be delicious. The whole wheat flour gives the waffles a healthy, hearty, sweet flavor perfect for Saturday mornings.

Whole Wheat Mixed Berry Waffles

Enjoying His summer’s produce,

izzie signature

Leave a Reply

