Laura’s SUPERIOR Performance

      So, this post is all about bragging on my youngest sister, Laura. She’s a beautiful, godly young woman who plays the piano exceptionally well. (Actually, according to the concert pianist/judge of the music festival, she does a “superior” job.) Superior is….THE HIGHEST SCORE YOU CAN EVEN GET AND THAT’S WHAT SHE GOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She didn’t scream at her score, hehe….but you better believe that I DID!!!!!!!!

      After doing a little “research” (on Wikipedia) I found out that Claude Debussy actually wrote this piece in response to a poem by Paul Verlaine that was published in 1869. Here’s the poem:

Your soul is as a moonlit landscape fair,
Peopled with maskers delicate and dim,
That play on lutes and dance and have an air
Of being sad in their fantastic trim.

The while they celebrate in minor strain
Triumphant love, effective enterprise,
They have an air of knowing all is vain,—
And through the quiet moonlight their songs rise,

The melancholy moonlight, sweet and lone,
That makes to dream the birds upon the tree,
And in their polished basins of white stone
The fountains tall to sob with ecstasy.

(http://allpoetry.com/poem/8538095-Clair-De-Lune-by-Paul-Verlaine)

And now that we’ve gotten the introduction out of the way, here is the the song performed fantastically by our very own Laura Elizabeth Sackett. :)

Please enjoy. Unfortunately, I filmed this on my phone’s camera, so the quality won’t give her the justice she deserves, but at least it’s a glimpse into her performance.

~izzie signature

6 thoughts on “Laura’s SUPERIOR Performance

  1. Too Many Minds says:

    GORGEOUS! I myself play the piano, and in fact just spent the last month perfecting Claire de Lune myself! Your sister is incredibly talented. I would love to follow you if you post more videos like these! I will be adding some to my blog myself! :)

    Like

  2. Oma says:

    Oh, my dear Izzie, thanks so very much for filming Laura’s beautifully perfect performance of Claire de Lunge. Gramps and I sat in our kitchen and listened and watched and it brought you all near. This is my first time to visit your blog! I will now look around and read some of oyour stuff.
    Love you bunches, Oma

    Like

  3. Terry says:

    Isabelle, It was beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing. Congratulations to you, Laura! Uncle David and I are very happy for you. Love, Uncle David and Aunt Terry

    Like

Leave a Reply

