The Mysterious Everyday

So there I was, driving to work this morning and hoping that I was going to be there on time. My wonderful mother had made blueberry pancakes for breakfast and I had stayed perhaps a few minutes longer than I should have to savor their flavor. I got to the construction site in Portales, and heard this quote by George McDonald on the Mars Hill Audio volume I was listening to. Ken Myers (the Mars Hill Audio host) and he quoted McDonald saying that Christ’s “alchemy”, “turns common things into radiant mysteries and every meal into a eucharisto.”

Isn’t that beautiful? I think it is. This is why Christians can live content and joyous lives because Christ Jesus does make our everyday lives beautiful. We can just keep it short and simple. Ponder the mysteries of flowers blooming, children growing, and the biggest mystery–salvation! How can we ever become bored if we are in Christ? J.I. Packer says that “what makes life worth living is having a big enough objective, something that lays hold of our allegiance; and this the Christian has in a way that no other person has. For what higher, more exalted, and more compelling goal can there be than to know God?”

He makes our everyday life new and exciting. We have the opportunity everyday to experience being a child and pupil of the Most High King, who is “infinite eternal, and unchanging in His being, wisdom, power, holiness, justice, goodness, and truth.”

Rejoicing in the mysteries of my Lord Jesus Christ,
~Isabelle

Leave a Reply

