Perseverance and [non]Boring me

You know, I’ve realized something. Every one’s life is interesting, even if they think it’s boring. It’s really not. You just think that it is. I often think my life is boring. I mean, seriously. When you read all these exciting stories (they can be either fact of fiction) and then sit back and think, “wow, my life isn’t nearly as exciting as that!” it’s hard to see sometimes that your life is exciting. I mean, it’s not exactly the same excitement, but it still is exciting.

Sitting at a desk all day is definitely not a hair raising and heart pounding adventure, however, the little things in life can make a big difference…but [I just got distracted while writing this post and] I didn’t just kill giant spiders myself, but I did just look at pictures of those big scary creatures in Australia and…well, I did squinch my toes up and was totally disgusted.

So, the moral of the story is, if you want your life to be more exciting, all you need to look at pictures of giant scary spiders eating snakes and birds and breaking into your car.

This post has gone in a completely different way from the way in which I first intended it to go….

[Take Two]

Last night, I was doing my devotions and I was reading an article by R. C. Sproul in the May 2014 issue of Tabletalk. [By the way, if you don’t read/subscribe to Tabletalk, I highly recommend that you do! and here’s the wonderful website’s link: http://www.ligonier.org/ and then click the “Ministries” tab and then “Tabletalk magazine”] The article was titled “The Comfort of Jesus’ Prayers” and it was extremely encouraging, I found. I thought it was going to be about the prayers of Jesus and maybe I could glean some advice on ways to pray, but it ended up really being about the comfort. Brilliant me, I should just read the titles more carefully. :D Sproul says, “Every day, in the presence of the Father, Christ intercedes for His people.” How comforting is that?!?!?!?! I can mess up,have a horrible day, and feel awful and yet when I think that my Savior, Jesus Christ, is in heaven interceding to my Father, it gives me a peace which surpasses all human understanding. I am so thankful that my salvation does not rest on my hands, but is held in the hands of my perfect God-in-Three-persons. Next time I feel awful and boring, I’m going to think of the Prince of Peace and the King of Kings preserving me.

And just think, I read that exciting news not while in the library of Oxford or Cambridge or Harvard…or Australia or China. I was sitting on my bed in the barren lands of Clovis, New Mexico. So, the moral of the story is when you’re feeling like you’re a boring person, just sit down and open your Bible and see the hand the Almighty God working throughout all of HIStory and contemplate how “He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ…for you all are partakers…in grace” (Philippians 1:6-7). For “those whom He predestined he also called, and those whom He called He also justified, and those whom He justified He also glorified” (Romans 8:30).

Sustained by grace,

~Isabelle

Leave a Reply

