On Spending More Time In His Word

This summer has been a wonderful time of visiting family and having a little extra free time on my hands. Having free time as been both a blessing a curse. Just ask my mom, I’m pretty sure that I would have gone crazy if school hadn’t started this week. But, it did and that’s good. The purpose of this post isn’t to talk about my school, though, it’s to think about some things that have been heavy on my mind for a few days.

(However, before I begin with the “good stuff” I realized that from my last post it appears as if I’m headed to Covenant for the fall, and that’s not accurate. I’m home. I’m going to Eastern New Mexico University and getting paid $1,500 this semester to do that…no complaints here! I’m still majoring in Early Childhood Education and also Family and Consumer Science. I’m also thinking that I really want to do something with English. What that is, though, I really can’t decide. Should I just take lots of English classes? Should I major in it? Should I minor in it? Do I really want to do something with it?….)

Okay, so as a “prologue” to what I was going to say, I am always envious of women of faith who seem to have such a deep relationship with of God. The women, when I think of them, are sitting drinking their coffee or tea and are reading their worn, leather bound, pen-in-their-margins filled Bibles, with a journal sitting to their right, a devotional book above their Bible, and something else really spiritual on their left. They sit on their front porches and read their day away. Now, that’s a very romanticized and unrealistic portrayal of a godly woman. And honestly, I’m not sure how godly that would be–to sit on your front porch all day reading your Bible. The Proverbs 31 woman certainly doesn’t seem to be sitting around reading her Bible all day long. David talks about meditating on God’s Word day and night, but we know that he wasn’t seated on his royal throne drinking coffee and reading J.I. Packer all day long.

I read a book when I first moved to Clovis, One Thousand Gifts, by a farmer’s wife who lives in Canada. Romantic me decided that of course she could be thankful! She lived on a beautiful, golden wheat colored farm, without any distractions, and had such the perfect life! I could be thankful if I lived there, too! But, as it was, I lived in Clovis, NM on a military base with sirens that seem to go off much more than appears necessary, and multiple trains passing by every hour. Plus, I practically lived in a desert, and I had just moved away from all my friends. I didn’t see much in which to be thankful. However, the more I read the book, the more I realized how selfish I was in thinking that. The “trick” is, it’s not your circumstances that should make you thankful; it’s who you are in Christ Jesus that should make you truly rejoice. Always. Without ceasing. Everything that happens to me comes from a God Who loves me more than I can imagine, and Who will give me the absolute best. Why can I be happy to wash dishes? For many reasons: dirty dishes means I’ve eaten [good] food, I have the water I need, I have hands with which to clean the dishes, I have soap…….

I am a child of the most High God and that. is. amazing. It is astounding. I wish there was a word I could use to describe the magnificence of that truth. It is breathtaking, awe-ing, incomprehensible, eternal, wonderful, humbling, and so many more things. Just stopping to pause and consider what Christ our Father has done for us is overwhelming.

Then I think to myself, do I actually envy a farmer’s wife? or my city-dwelling grandmother’s life? No, I think not. What I really covet and desire is to have that deep, close, and personal relationship with my Creator God. I don’t need to live on a farm, or have a garden carpeted hill. I need time. Dedicated time. Everyday. To grow. To be nourished as only Christ can feed. What is that saying…something about “the more time you spend on something, the more you get out”….If I only put the bare minimum in, I’ll only get that bare minimum back. This is not to say that my faith is up to me and my work. Only God had give me growth. But, who waters? Who weeds? (1 Corinthians 3:6-9) How am I to know the things of this world versus the things of God? By being transformed by the renewal of my mind. (Romans 12:1-2) How am I to know God? By reading His Word and knowing His creation. God has revealed Himself and spoken to us by His prophets and His Son. (Hebrews 1:2) “The heaves declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork. Day to day pours our speech and nice to night reveals knowledge. There is no speech, nor are their words, who voice is not heard…
The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul;
the testimony of the Lord is sure,
making wise the simple;
the precepts of the Lord are right,
rejoicing the heart;
the commandment of the Lord is pure,
enlightening the eyes;
the fear of the Lord is clean,
enduring forever;
the rules of the Lord are true,
and righteous all together.
Much more to be desired that fine gold,
even much fine gold;
Sweeter also than honey,
and droppings of the honeycomb.
Moreover, by them is your servant
warned;
in keeping them there is much reward.”
(Psalm 19:1-2, 7-11, ESV)

Who doesn’t want everything that David mentions in that Psalm??? I do!!!! My prayer echoes David’s words from Psalm 19:14; 25:4-5; 43:3; 51:10:
“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer…
Make me to know Your ways, O Lord; teach me Your paths.
Lead me in Your truth and teach me…
Send out Your light and Your truth; let them lead me;
let them bring me to Your holy hill and to Your
dwelling….
Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right
spirit within me.

Amazed by His grace,
~Isabelle 
Leave a Reply

