Sitting in My Dorm

Hi! I hope and pray that you are having a blessed Sunday! It’s actually nice outside right now! The sky’s real color is actually BLUE!!!!  NOT grey!

I have been extremely busy with school, work, homework, and trying to get enough sleep and the right balance between all of that and having friends. It’s been hard work, but I’m beginning to get a hold of my life here.

Some days are really great, others not so much, and some days I feel like…crying. I’m learning to trust in Christ Jesus more and rely on Him more for everything. Some nights I just lay on my bed and wish I was home and my mom could take care of me, make my food, do my laundry; my dad could be my theological mentor, take me into town, be my PE teacher; my sisters would always be there to talk to me; and my brothers were there to take out the trash and make me laugh and give me hugs. But, I guess everything has its ups and downs.

Friday, I realized that even though I had gotten all my homework done, and I forgotten about three and a half hours of work study. Whoops!!!!! Here I was, thinking I was finally on board just to realize that I was still spinning in the current. So, there I was, sitting at my desk at work, by myself in the room, and just put my head up and said, “I can’t do it!” Tears started welling up, and I thought, “okay, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” I turned on the radio and “Jesus Paid it All” was playing! God is GOOD! I don’t think that any other song could have fitted my need like that song did. No offense to education, but in the long run, it just doesn’t matter. Jesus paid it all!

Please pray for me that I would have the wisdom and stamina that I need here—wisdom not just in class, but if God wants me to come back next semester. It looks like, from a financial standpoint, that I could come back here in the Fall, but I can’t tell if this is the best school for me. Maybe I’m just homesick and still getting used to Covenant, but there are a lot of days where I just don’t feel like I fit in to the school. I don’t know why I just don’t “absolutely love  Covenant” like most everyone else I talk to does.

                With that said, I also feel very blessed to sit under some very brilliant teachers! I have a few classes that I LOVE, a one that is ok, and one that I dread—but I look forward to chapel right after it! My favorite classes are New Testament with Dr. Tremiew. (Which is ironic because I seem to love the professors that aren’t most people’s favorites and not care for everyone’s favorite…) Anyways, I was intimidated by him at first, but a few classes later, I really, really, really enjoy his class! I’ve heard he’s super hard on his exams though, and I have one coming up, but I pray that it’ll go well. My second favorite class is Introduction to Teaching. I really actually like the field placement for that class! I get to work in a kindergarten class and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the teacher and the kids, and everything about the class. I to the class three hours on Thursday morning and when I was there, I stood in the middle of the classroom and thought, “Yep, I want to be a teacher and I want to teach kindergarten.” I guess I’ll see what God has in store for me. Another class that I LOVE is Christian Mind. It meets twice a week for an hour each time and on Tuesdays a speaker comes in and gives a lecture on something, and then on Thursdays, our professor, Dr. Zuidema, leads us in discussion about the lecture! It’s a great class full of us transfer students (there are 16 or 17 of us) and we have great discussion.

                History is class is good. I LOVE the teacher, and the subject always interests me, but is not one in which I really study a lot. Most students love Old Testament with Dr. Jones. His goal is to get students to think about what they believe and why they believe what they believe. I see the good of that, but I guess I just don’t like having everything that I believe challenged. The last class is PE. Let’s just say the professor……well….I come out mad and I’m sure with high blood pressure (which as we talked about is a sign of stress) and I’m extremely grateful that Chapel is right after that class and I can worship the Lord and confess my anger and come out feeling truly refreshed.

                I work in health services scanning health charts onto a computer that’s extremely slow. I think I get more homework done than scanning. But, Nurse Bard used the computer to show me how to do something, and after she used it, she walked right into the other room and called tech support so now the computer is being fixed! Yay!….or should I say it’s too bad I won’t get more homework done.

                Sundays are the hardest day of the week. I miss my family the most, I guess since on Sundays we used to spend the day all together. I miss my dad’s preaching and my mom’s cooking. So, I’m trying out blogging on Sundays, to give me something to do and look forward to for Sundays. So far, I’ve had a mostly good Sunday.
            Here are some pictures of my dorm. I think it’s nice and almost homey feeling. Yes, my bed is the one under the window and I’m the one with the pictures bordering the wall.

This is my room

and my bed

 the fridge and the microwave, the hot water boiler and the Kurg
the hallway

 the bathroom that Maria and I share

My desk
my dresser and wall

Walking in His Beauty,
~Isabelle

Leave a Reply

