Peace in the Middle of…Life

Today in Church, we lit the second candle on the Advent wreath, the Peace candle. It reminds me of the verse in the Bible “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” (John 14:27 ESV).

Peace. Christians are the ones who should have the most peace in their life, for they know God. They know that He loves them and cares for them. They know that He sent His Son to die for their sins. They know that their salvation doesn’t depend on themselves. They know that one day they will be in Heaven forever, singing praises to God. God uses all things, “good” and “bad” for good. Real good. Not what the world calls good.

Since I’m transferring colleges, and have less than a month to get everything done, and I want to get Christmas presents for everyone in my family, and I want to do a million other things, peace seems like a foreign word to me right now. But it shouldn’t be. In fact, I’m pretty sure that it should be one of the most important words on my mind right now.

I’m trying to remind myself, and remind you, that even in the middle of a busy season, we should have peace. What’s the point of celebrating the birth of our dear Lord and Savior if you can’t enjoy the gifts that knowing Him brings?


Advent, it’s just an amazing time of the year. :) I just love it.

Leave a Reply

